FIFA Cancels 2020 “The Best Awards”

O’tayo Noel

The glamorous World Footballer of the Year will not hold Ffr the first time since 1991, due to the Covid-19 pandemic.
The awards, started by France Football magazine later became a collaboration with the World Football body, FIFA with German captain and Inter Millan defender, Lothar Matthaus winning the inaugural edition of that merger.
The duo of Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have dominated the awards as the winners of the most of the editions.
Messi was the winner in 2019. Since there will be no winner for 2020, the Argentine will be the defending champion for another year. Virgil van Dijk and Cristiano Ronaldo were the runners up in 2019.
According to Marca last night, FIFA decided to cancel the ‘The Best’ awards ceremony because of coronavirus that has put all sporting activities on hold pending the time human race will conquer the pandemic.
The Spanish newspaper insisted that FIFA will leave the 2019/2020 season without a winner.
The ceremony was supposed to take place in September of this year in Milan, but social and health conditions have made FIFA cancel this year’s edition.
With FIFA no longer planning for this year’s award there is a likelihood of the Confederation of African Football (CAF) following in the path of the world body by also cancelling it’s continental programme.
The duo of Senegalese Sadio Mane and Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala are primed to retain their respective Men and Women’s titles for another 12 months of this happen.


Popular posts from this blog

Ayade, The Cry Cry Baby In Peregrino House By AGBA JALINGO


Ọ̀daràn kan fi tipá wọ ààfin Ọ̀ọni ilé ifẹ̀