Fapohunda Chairs Justice Sector Reform, Human Trafficking Committees

Abasi Femi Oguntayo

Ekiti State Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Olawale Fapohunda has been announced as chairman of both the Ekiti State Justice Sector and Task Force on Hunan Trafficking Committee by Governor Kayode Fayemi.

The committees which were inaugurated today, Monday June 24th, 2019 at the conference Hall of the governor's office in Ado-Ekiti, had Fapohunda inaugurated as the chairman of both committees.

Governor Kayode Fayemi, who was represented at the event by his deputy, Bisi Egbeyemi said that the State Justice Sector Reform Committee was inaugurated in a bid to reposition the administration of justice in the State.

He also stated that the State Task Force on Human Trafficking was inaugurated to reassure the people of his administration’s zero tolerance for human trafficking and using the state as a base for the perpetration of the crime.

Egbeyemi while talking on behalf of the Governor said the committee members were carefully selected based on their experience and pedigrees urging them to see the assignment as a call to duty.

He however thanked them for accepting the offer to serve and prayed that God give them the wisdom to discharge the assignment aimed at reforming the society.

Other members of the Ekiti Justice Sector Reform Committee who were inaugurated are Justice Oluwatoyin Abodunde of the State High Court, the Onisin of Isinbode
Ekiti, Oba Adesoji Akinyemi; Commissioner for Women Affairs, Mrs. Moji Fafure; the Commissioner of Police, the Controller of Prisons , Chairman, Nigerian Bar Association (NBA), Ado Ekiti Branch, Mr. Olakanmi Falade and Catholic Priest, Rev. Fr. Emmanuel Akingbade.

The rest are Solicitor General and Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Justice, Mr. Babatope
Ojo; Director of Public Prosecution, Mr. Julius Ajibare; Prof. Toyin Babatunde of the Faculty of Law, Ekiti State University, Chief Magistrate Adesoji Adegboye, Mr. Felix Olaolorun  as the PRO and Mr. Ilesanmi Adelusi as secretary of the committee.

Members of the State Task Force on Human Trafficking include the Chief of Staff to the Governor, Mr. Biodun Omoleye; the Oloye of Oye Ekiti, Oba Oluwole Ademolaju; Commissioner for Women Affairs, Mrs. Moji Fafure; Executive Secretary, Office of the Public Defender, Bola Wale-Awe, Chairperson Federation of International Women Lawyers (FIDA), Ms. Seyi Ojo, and former FIDA Chairperson, Mrs. Rita Ilevbare.

The rest are state Commissioner of Police, state Controller, Nigeria Immigration Service, state Commander, Nigeria Drug Law Enforcement Agency, state Commandant, Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps and Sector Commander, Federal Road Safety Corps.

Responding on behalf of the members of the two committees, Justice Abodunde thanked the state government for the confidence reposed in them to carry out the task.

She assured the state government that members of the two committees will not disappoint in the onerous assignment given to them.


Popular posts from this blog

Fayemi Disburses N131M Vehicle Loan to Workers

Adeyeye's Loss at Appeal: Fayemi Reacts

Ekiti LG Poll: Group Commends SIEC, Condemns Killing