Ekiti 2018: Tinubu, Oyegun disagree Over Fresh Guber Pry in Ekiti... Oyetunde Ojo, Faleye, Others banned from venue

• Oyegun, NWC Insist on Delegates Primary • Tinubu, Osoba, 27 Aspirants Embrace direct Primary
• Oyetunde Ojo, Faleye, Others banned from venue

Tinubu & Oyegun

The  National Working Committee (NWC) of the All Progressive Congress and the Asiwaju Bola Tinubu led South West Leaders of the ruling party are on a new war part as they both disagreed on the modalities for the rescheduled Ekiti State governorship primaries.

Chief Odigie Oyegun led NWC of APC had on Tuesday cancelled the results of last Saturday’s botched gubernatorial primary election, which took place at the Oluyemi Kayode stadium in Ado-Ekiti, the Ekiti State capital and has consequently fixed this Friday for the conduct of fresh primary election.

The NWC wanted a fresh delegates election while the leaders and majority of the aspirants prefer direct primaries.  The NWC which took the decision after a marathon session between Monday and Tuesday however barred the agents of aspirants who were identified to have disrupted the process from further participating in the primary election in whatever capacity.

“Perhaps, more importantly is that the exercise of Saturday is cancelled and would now be conducted this Friday, 11th May, 2018”, said Mallam Bolaji Abdullahi, the party’s spokesman at a news conference.

According to him, “the existing primary election committee is maintained, except the secretary who will now be substituted”.
The secretary, Hon. Magaji Aliyu who is a member of the House of Representatives had come under intense criticisms by some aspirants who accused him of trying to subvert the process, but Mallam Abdullahi said Mr Aliyu was never indicated for compromising the process but that ” virtually all aspirants complained that the secretary has a close relationship with one of their colleagues and so we decided to drop him in order to guard the integrity of the process and not because he was found to have compromised."

Other members of the committee who would work alongside its chairman, Gov. Umar Tanko al-Makura of Nasarawa state are; Mr. Duke Oshodin; Barr. Robert Okwuego and Mr. Tunde Balogun.

According to the party, “All Identified unruly agents that participated in the suspended primary election of 5′” May 2018 are disqualified from participating In the rescheduled primary as agents. Accordingly, the following individuals are hereby disqualified from participating as agents or partaking in the rescheduled primary in whatever capacity; Ayodeji Omowaye, Rotimi Faleye, Kayode Afolabi, Oladele Ademola Samuel, Oyetunde Ojo, Akintade Olayisade and Temitope Adewumi.

“All agent tags must bear the name of aspirants they represent. All agents in the rescheduled primary election are hereby barred from coming to the voting arena with their mobile phones”.
Other decisions reached by the NWC are: “Security agents from other states will be mobilized to secure the venue and officials in the rescheduled election. One person would be appointed subject to the consensus of all aspirants to assist persons with disability and illiterate voters. All aspirants must not leave their sitting position unless with the approval of the primary committee

“All aspirants would be held vicariously liable for the conduct of their agents. Names of the following aspirants would now be written in the following order as stated below: Ajayi Olatunji Olowo and Olubunmi Kayode.

“The NWC condemn the disruption of the Primary of 5th May and resolved that all found culpable, directly or indirectly will be punished in accordance with the relevant provisions of the party constitution”.

Meanwhile, the leadership of the party in the South West, in conjunction with all the Governorship aspirants in Ekiti and the state Party Exco met yesterday and resolved as follows; one, to use Direct Primary involving All card carrying APC members in Ekiti State to chose its candidate. Two, all in attendance, including Gov Almakura will meet with the National leadership of the party tomorrow, Wednesday. Three, it was also resolved that any Aspirant that stepped down from the race before the primary will have his or her nomination form fee refunded. Four, the primary will take place in 177 wards of the state.

However, the National Chairman of the party, Chief Oyegun has already turned down the option of direct primary on the ground that it would be cumbersome within the short time available for the primary election. He insisted on delegates election come Friday this week but this did not go down well with the majority of the aspirants who felt that delegates election is expensive.


Popular posts from this blog

Breaking: Ex-Ondo Governor, Olumilua dies

Obaseki... Between The Devil and The Deep Blue Sea

Ekiti: Governor Responds To Claims Of Selling State Lodge ln Abuja