Ex Govrs, Ex Lawmakers Head Federal Boards ... 20 Others Become Members

Two former governors of Ekiti State: Otunba Niyi Adebayo and Engr Segun Oni, former National Assembly member, Senator Ayo Arise and former Speaker of Ekiti State House of Assembly, Hon Adewale Omirin have appointed Chairmen of various federal boards as two other Ekiti indigenes become board members.

Former governors of Ekiti state, Otunba Niyi Adebayo and Engineer Segun Oni were named as chairmen of Nigeria Federal Airport Authority of Nigeria (FAAN) and Nigerian Export Processing Zone (NEPZ). Senator Ayo Arise, a recent kidnap victim is the Chairman, Sheda Science and Technology Complex while the former Speaker, Adewale Omirin heads Lake Chad Research Institute (LCRI), Maiduguri

Their appointments with those of other twenty sons and daughters were contained in the list of 209 board chairmen and 1,258 members of government owned agencies and parastatals announced by President Muhammadu Buhari in one fell swoop on Friday 29, November, 2017 to redeem his pledge made on 31 October at the National Executive Committee meeting of All Progressives Congress.

More appointments are on the way, said Mr. Boss Mustapha, secretary to the Government of the Federation, who announced the latest massive batch of appointees.

At the APC NEC meeting, President Buhari also hinted he would expand his cabinet by appointing more ministers.

Other indigenes of Ekiti appointed into various appointments and their various positions are: Dr Femi Orebe as a member of Federal Medical Centre, Bida, Hon Opeyemi Bamidele as a member
National Agency for Food and Drug Administration, Dr Eniola Ajayi as a member Federal Teaching Hospital, Abakaliki, Muyiwa Coker  as Member National Orientation Agency, Tade Aluko as a member of National Troupe and National Theatre of Nigeria Engr Ben Oguntuase as a member of National Film and Video Censors Board (NFVCB), Chief Dele Okeya as a member of Voice of Nigeria and Mrs Dupe Bakare as a member, National Centre for Women Development

Others are:  Chief YEMI ADARAMODU  as a Member of FEDERAL HOUSING AUTHORITY (FHA), Barr. Wale Fapohunde as a Member of Citizenship and Leadership Training Center, Prof Radio Folayan as a member of  Nigeria Institute of Oceanography and Marine Reasearch (NIOMR), Lagos,  Hon Bamidele Faparusi as a Member of National Animal Product Research Institute, Zaria, Kunle Dada as Member of National Metallurgical Development Centre (NMDC), Jos, Barr Peter Owolabi as a Member of National Board for Technology Incubation (NBTI), Hon Ade Ajayi as a member of National commission for museums and monuments, Mr Debo Ajayi as a  Member of Federal Medical Center,  Hon Bunmi Ajayi Orinowo as a  Member
of National Ear Care Center (NECC), Kaduna,  Mrs Mini Oloro as a  Member of Iruha Specialist Hospital, Ishola Filani as a Member of  Federal Medical Center (FMC), Ebute Meta and Otunba Joseph F Alake as a Member of Nigerian Meteorological Agency

Other many big wigs of the APC were appointed. The party’s legal adviser, Muiz Banire is now the chairman of the Asset Management Company of Nigeria(AMCON). Senator Olorunimbe Mamora is the chairman of Abuja Investment and Infrastructure Centre.

The party’s secretary, Mai Mala Buni, is the chairman of the Shippers Council. Malam Bolaji Abdullahi, the publicity secretary of the party is in charge of the National Sugar Development Council(NSDC).

Demola Seriki, a former minister of state for defence is the chairman of the National Maritime Academy of Nigeria in Oron. Former Speaker House of Representatives, Patricia Olubunmi Etteh is the new chairman of the National Hospital, Abuja. A former deputy speaker, Chibudom Nwuche is in charge of Federal Medical Centre Lokoja.

Dr. Leke Pitan, a former commissioner for health in Lagos, under Asiwaju Bola Tinubu was appointed chairman of National Agricultural Extension Research Liaison Services in Zaria. Teju Philips, also a former Lagos commissioner is the chairman of Federal College of Agriculture, Ibadan. Pastor Yomi Kasali will head the Nigerian Christian Pilgrims Commission.

Chief George Moghalu is the chairman of the Nigerian Communications Satellite(NIGCOMSAT). General John Shagaya is the chairman of National Institute for Policy and Strategic Studies, Kuru Jos.

Former deputy governor of Plateau state, Pauline Tallen is the new chairman of National Agency for the Control of HIV/AIDS(NACA).

Former deputy governor of Ondo state, Alhaji Ali Olanusi, will chair the Benin-Owena River Basin Development Authority, while a former deputy governor of Lagos, Femi Pedro is the chairman of Small and Medium Enterprise Development Agency of Nigeria.

Timi Alaibe, former Managing director of the Niger Delta Development Commission, is heading to Oil and Gas Free Zone Authority as chairman.

According to Boss Mustapha, all the appointments take immediate effect. The ministers under whom the agencies fall, have been asked to constitute the boards immediately.

Said Mustapha: ” Mr. President considered the approval for the constitution of the Boards as well as the appointments, very necessary, so as to provide a proper Governance and oversight structure for Government Agencies and Parastatals.

“The constitution of the boards with the appointments, is a demonstration of this Government’s efforts aimed at building strong institutions of Governance, and by extension, improving the quality of Policy formulation and supervision”,  he added.


Popular posts from this blog

Ayade, The Cry Cry Baby In Peregrino House By AGBA JALINGO


Ọ̀daràn kan fi tipá wọ ààfin Ọ̀ọni ilé ifẹ̀